In addition to the discipline specific awards listed below, USPC also offers recognition that is open to those interested in any discipline.  Learn more!

Vieva Perrin Memorial Award for Horsemanship

This trophy is given in memory of one of the founders of Somerset Hills Pony Club and is awarded annually to the rider in the Regular Division who best exemplifies the classical principles of horsemanship and "the American jumping style."

  • A pair of spurs: presented to each competitor in the H3 division
  • A belt buckle: presented to each competitor in the H4 division

Judy Thayer Memorial Coaching Award

Established in 2014 in memory of Judy Thayer, this award is given to the person who best demonstrates the attributes of Judy’s coaching style. These ideals are the true measure of Judy Thayer’s character as demonstrated by her coaching, teaching, riding, and care of her horses. The coach will:

  • Show respect for the rider and especially for the horse or pony during and after competition.
  • Always encourage riders to focus on the positive in order to learn from each riding experience.
  • Recognize the simplest methods in coaching often create the best communication between riders and their horses or ponies.

2014 marked the first time in 30 years that Judy Thayer was not coaching riders from Eastern Pennsylvania and Delmarva Regions at Championships. Just a few days before heading to the event Judy passed away suddenly.  To honor Judy Thayer’s memory, the USPC Show Jumping Committee created this award in 2014 to be given annually during USPC Championships. Winners of the award will receive a lifetime membership to generously donated by the website’s founder, Bernie Traurig a graduate of Meadow Brook Hounds Pony Club.



Pony Club Members, Parents, VolunteersSign In to learn more!
© 2023 The United States Pony Clubs, Inc. A 501(c)(3) Organization. All Rights Reserved.